Excellence in Energy Innovation – Tumalow William Gathright, CEO

Kiersten has been instrumental in the success of the AEE GW student chapter, and was a major factor in the AEE National Capital Chapter winning the "Best Student Chapter" award for 2017. After assuming the role of student chapter President, she jumped in and started contributing immediately. Kiersten specializes in outreach, and is a master in recruiting students through social media like Facebook and GW's student organization portal. From her efforts, the student chapter increased participation in its semester kickoff meeting from five (Winter 2016) to over 20 (Spring 2017).

Bill Kent, Presenter

The AEE/NCC Officers and Board decided to try something different this year.  By combining the first chapter awards ceremony in quite some time together with our annual holiday party, we were able to have what has been one of our most successful December events in recent memory.  The evening began with an extremely delicious buffet style dinner in a lovely ballroom setting that really facilitated friendly professional networking and joyful celebration of the holiday season.

Before getting into the six Chapter Awards, we had another special event.  The Chapter took a moment to recognize the contributions of Jeff Deem who has served the National Capital Chapter for 40 years.  Most recently as Chapter Vice President.  It was also announced that Mr. Deem will continue on in his service to the chapter in his new role as Chairman of the Board of Directors.  We are honored and proud to have Mr. Deem continue to serve.

Energy Organization of the Year Award – Panda Power Funds - Mark Kadon, General Manager Panda Stonewall 

Since 2012, NVCC has added eight (8) new buildings and renovated one (1) building – a total of approximately 520,000 ft2. During the same period, through a combination of efficiency projects and programs, lighting retrofits, building recommissioning, natural gas contracts, sewage deduct metering, and electrical account totalization, NVCC reduced its per square foot utility cost from $1.93 to $1.66, saving the Commonwealth of Virginia approximately $1,000,000 annually.

Energy Engineer of the Year Award - David R. Hoffman – President, Gipe Associates

Dave Hoffman has been a leader in sustainable MEP design for years. He was one of the first engineers in the NCC region to push geothermal systems to clients and went as far to design them at no additional cost because he knew they were the right system for the environment and his client. His firm also has also been an early adopter of VRV/VRF. Some of the projects Mr. Hoffman has worked on include Dover High School, Woodbridge High School, Stevensville Middle School, University of Maryland - Sorority Phase IX, and J.M. Tawes Career and Technology Center. 

Finally, the main event took place and chapter awards were presented:

​​​​December 6, 2017  

Holiday Party & Chapter Awards Ceremony

Energy Institute of the Year Award – NVCC – Steve Patterson, Director of Facility Operations

Following dinner was the awards ceremony, which was extra special, not just because it was the first one, but also because we were joined by Bill Kent, the Executive Director of AEE Worldwide: Bill is responsible for the day to day operations of the Association of Energy Engineers. He is responsible for managing programs for membership, certification, publications, and conferences. He has worked with many local, state and federal agencies to develop workforce training programs and led the initiative to gain ANSI 17024 Accreditation and U.S. DOE Better Buildings Workforce Guidelines recognition of the AEE certifications. Bill attended the University of Georgia and has over 25 years' experience in energy management, automation and controls in both sales and engineering roles.  He is a Certified Energy Manager® (CEM®), a member of the Commercial Workforce Credentialing Council Board of Advisors, and was previously Vice President of Sales & Marketing for Varec, a Leidos company.

Will Gaithright at Tumalow Energy has been instrumental in developing The Tumalow solution which reduces monthly electric bills for commercial properties through the intelligent use of battery energy storage systems (BESS). By combining solar photovoltaics with their battery energy storage and software solution, partners can improve project economics by reducing high customer demand charges ("peak shaving") or delivering energy arbitrage ("peak shifting") when solar is not available.

Young Energy Engineer of the Year Award - Danielle Benner – Outside Sales, Shepherd Electric


December 6, 2017 from 6-9pm


George Washington University
Science and Engineering Hall  
800 22nd St NW Washington, DC 20052

In April of 2017, Panda Power Funds, completed measures to make their Panda Stonewall plant one of the cleanest Natural Gas fueled facilities in the United States. This 778MW facility uses the most advanced emission controls currently available, and even makes use of reclaimed water from the Town of Leesburg to cool the facility, protecting both the natural supply of drinking water and the Chesapeake Bay watershed from contamination. 

Student Energy Engineer of the Year Award Kiersten Washle - Student, GWU

Mr. Kent presided over the presentation of National Awards won by the National Capital Chapter which were originally presented in Atlanta at the World Energy Engineering Congress. Including Most New Members, and Best Student Chapter (George Washington University) Mr. Kent also made special recognition of National Capital Chapter contributions to AEE National programs Including $3,000 provided for AEE Foundation Scholarships and $1,000 provided to the AEE International Travel Fund.

The awards ceremony and holiday party combined event was a great success!

In less than a years’ time Danielle Benner has helped to train customers, provide them energy savings, and equip many with life cycle value through her engineering in her position at Shepherd Electric. She has made a great impact at Catholic University, Ivymount School, and the New York Avenue Presbyterian Church. Folks at the Local 26 Head Quarters for the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers continue to ask for her return in assisting them with current and future projects.