Wednesday, December 12th, 2018, 6-9pm


George Washington University Science and Engineering Hall
Lower Level Green Room
800 22nd St NW
Washington, DC 20052 

Excellence in Energy Innovation

(An individual or organization who has developed new methods and/or technology in energy conservation)

Energy Engineer of the Year

(senior level engineer who has developed projects in energy conservation)

Student Energy Engineer of the Year (undergraduate or graduate student, enrolled at a college or university)

DCSEU, receiving the award: Ted Trabue

The Excellence in Energy Innovation Award goes to a truly unique organization. Since 2011, they have helped DC residents and businesses use less energy and save money through financial incentives, technical assistance, and education. They have helped tens of thousands of District residents and businesses save their energy costs with programs at Residential, Commercial, as well as contractor levels.  In 2017 alone, this organization and its strategic initiatives saved enough electricity to power more than 9,000 homes for an entire year. These results and others are a clear achievement, and a solid first step in a longer commitment to building a sustainable energy future in the District.

Young Energy Engineer of the Year

(an individual under 35 who is actively involved in energy conservation)

Energy Organization of the Year​

Keith Benson, Director of Energy, US Navy Installations Command

Our Energy Engineer of the Year Award Winner has been a global leader, team builder and program manager for over 20-years and across 40 countries. He is responsible for leading global energy teams and managing comprehensive energy programs across 11 Regions and 70 Installations with support from over 52,000 personnel and is responsible for an infrastructure valued at $217 Billion and a utility budget of $1 Billion. He has overseen and continues to oversee the goals put forth by the Secretary of the Navy at 71 facilities across the world as well as Joint Base Anacostia Boling.  Mr. Benson has also developed innovative energy & sustainability policies for the White House to include strategies in renewable energy, energy storage, greenhouse gas & carbon accounting, performance contracting, energy efficiency and fossil fuel reduction. We present this award to Keith Benson.

Benjamin Foxman, CLEARESULT

Our Young Energy Engineer of the Year Award recipient started his career in energy conservation as a Zero Waste Assistant at the University of Colorado, Boulder campus. There, his responsibilities included oversight of the campus Waste Management Processes for their Grounds and Recycling Operations Center.  In addition, he facilitated the Waste Management Processes for campus athletic events. He also created the outreach materials for the City of Boulder's Zero Waste initiatives.  Since then, he has been actively involved in an installation of energy and water efficiency equipment for the commercial sector throughout Northern Virginia. In addition, he has facilitated the adoption of 100% wind and solar energy utility portfolios for both the commercial and residential sectors in Washington D.C. as well as Maryland. We present this award to Ben Foxman.

Energy Institution of the Year

Kushal Malvania, GW University

The recipient of the Student Energy Engineer of the Year Award was nominated by not one, not two, but three individuals. He is a graduate student in the Environmental and Energy Management program at GWU. Since assuming the role of Vice President for the AEE GW Student Chapter, he has been instrumental in organizing and promoting energy tours and volunteer student projects for the chapter throughout 2018. He was also a key member of the student team from GW chapter that built a Portable Solar Generator for Puerto Rico which secured third place in GW’s SEAS Innovation Challenge 2018. This winner actively helps GW’s Facilities Services to manage energy usage and costs of the university and promotes energy conservation programs on campus and in the summer 2018, he was an important part of AECOM’s Power and Energy group that conducted a successful characterization study for Geothermal energy in DC. He aspires to promote, educate, and engage communities in energy conservation projects and deploying renewable energy for the betterment of our environment. We are pleased to present this award to the GW Student Chapter Vice President, Kushal Malvania.

December 12, 2018

Holiday Party & Chapter Awards Ceremony

MedImmune, receiving the award: Mike Deiterich

The Organization of the Year Award goes to the global biologics research and development arm of AstraZeneca. Their Gaithersburg, MD headquarters, one of AstraZeneca’s three global hubs, is now certified to the U.S. Department of Energy’s Superior Energy Performance™ (SEP) program.  To qualify for SEP, MedImmune set up a robust energy management system, tracked the improvements in its energy performance, and had the results independently verified. The facility improved its energy performance by 8.5% over three years to achieve Silver Level SEP certification, and is the first biotech research laboratory and clinical trial manufacturer to earn it. Since earing this award, they have gone on to achieve even greater savings and broader sustainability milestones.  The recipient of this year’s award goes to MedImmune, in Gaithersburg, MD.

District of Columbia – Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs – Green Building Division, receiving the award: Michael Brown

The energy Institution of the Year Award goes to a group that enforces both the energy code and green construction code for the District of Columbia.  In the past year they have worked to introduce the 2015 energy codes with amendments to city council which helps the District of Columbia stay on course for its aggressive energy reduction goals.  The energy code process requires coordination between public and private sectors as well as careful consideration of impact on energy use reduction. Along with the energy code, they are working on implementing a voluntary residential Net Zero Energy program that will help usher in a new wave of local builders and designers looking to achieve Net Zero Energy consumption.  This program offers incentives, consulting, and ultimately a sounding board for the advancement of technologies and practices that will help move DC into a sustainable future. We present this award to the DCRA Green Building Division. Receiving the award, Michael Brown.