​​Irwin Kim, PE, CMVP, LEED AP
Senior Mechanical Engineer, ERG
2300 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 350
Arlington, VA 22201-5408
(703) 614-1363
irwin.kim.ctr@mail.mil 

Faculty Co-Advisor
Dr. Farah Singer

Faculty Research Associate, University of Maryland
4164C Glenn L. Martin Hall
College Park, MD 20742
(301) 405-5263
fsinger@umd.edu

Jeff Deem (CHAIRMAN of BOARD of DIRECTORS)
Retired
6401 Newington Road
Lorton, VA 22079
(703) 550-9245
jeff.deem2@gmail.com

Vice President – Ronak Shah
rshah93@terpmail.umd.edu

Eric Yang, PE, CEM, LEED AP, ASHRAE HBDP, CPMP
Energy Systems Group
1099 Winterson Road
Baltimore, MD 21090
571-481-8450
eyang@energysystemsgroup.com 


Peter Ginzburg
Business Development Consultant,

Honeywell Building Solutions
400 Herndon Pkwy #100
Herndon, VA 20170
(703) 715-7788 Peter.Ginzburg@Honeywell.com


Jared McGrath, LEED AP, EMIT, EIT

Facilities Planning and Engineering, Eastern Research Group, Inc. 
2300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 350

Arlington, Virginia 22201
(703) 841-0507

Jared.McGrath@erg.com

Janine Finnell
Executive Director, Leaders in Energy
1635 South Stafford Street
Arlington, VA 22204
(703) 203-0766
jfinnell@leadersinenergy.org 

Ben Rupert
Owner, BJR Consulting
9801 Wildwood Road
Bethesda, MD 20814
(360) 927-8236
ben.rupert@newenergytech.net


Vice President: 


Tim Witting, CEM, BEP
Business Development Manager,

NAC Group
16761 Oakmont Avenue
Gaithersburg, MD 20877
(301) 873-5392

Professional Mentor
Giovanni DiNitto

Account Executive, Siemens Industry, Inc.
6435 Virginia Manor Road
Beltsville, MD 20705
(301) 219-7146
Giovanni.Dinitto@Siemens.com


In the last few years, our chapter has been awarded many national awards including:


Best Student Chapter 


Most New Members


Best Chapter Website


Best Overall Chapter Performance. 

Professional Mentor
Chris Perry

Senior Analyst – Buildings Program, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy
529 14th Street N.W., Suite 600
Washington, D.C., 20045
(412) 979-7619
cperry@aceee.org


Kevin Chisholm, PE, CEM
Principal,

Mid-Atlantic Energy Consultants
602 23rd Street South
Arlington, VA 22202
(703) 346-2292
kevchis@aol.com

Michael J. Barancewicz, BEP, CDSM, CEA, CEM, CEP, CSDP
Energy Education Specialist, Loudoun County Public Schools
1002-C Sycolin Road, SE
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
(571) 233-3883
michael.barancewicz@lcps.org

Justin Baker
Managing Director, Lilker EMO Energy Solutions
3130 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 125        
Falls Church, VA 22042
(724) 554-7010
jbaker@lilkeremo.com

Douglas Millar
Vice President, Edison Energy
7926 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 530
McLean, Virginia 22102
(908) 812-7102
Douglas.Millar@EdisonEnergy.com

Secretary – Vishnu Varun Babu
vishnugradapp@gmail.com

Past President - Faisal Alhussain
fzh@gwmail.gwu.edu


Staff Advisor
Patrick Buchanan CEM,

FMP
University Energy Manager, George Mason University
4400 University Drive MS 6A4
Fairfax, VA 22030-4444
(571) 722-6668 
pbuchan2@gmu.edu

(571) 235-5067
scarte19@gmu.edu


Vice President - Kushal Malvania
kushal_malvania@gwmail.gwu.edu

Curt Hurst
Senior Customer Success Manager, EnerNOC

526 Glade Fern Terrace, SE
Leesburg, Virginia 20175             
(201) 404.-0650
curt.hurst@enernoc.com

Rami Soppa, CEM, CRM, LEED AP, EBCP, PMP
President, GreenEcoSavers, LLC
11921 Freedom Drive, Suite 550
Reston, VA 20190
(703) 880-6658
rsoppa@greenecosavers.com

President - Jacqueline Hart
jhart48@gwmail.gwu.edu
(617) 371-8774


Treasurer: 

Ernest Jolly, CEA, CEM
Energy Chief, DC Water
5000 Overlook Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20032
(202) 787-2370 

Past President - Semion Carter
(571) 235-5067
scarte19@gmu.edu


Bryan Bomer
Program Analyst, Green Building Division, DC Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
1100 4th St, SW
Washington DC 20024
(202) 442-4313
Bryan.Bomer@dc.gov 

Robin Robinson, CEM
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
6075 Goethals Road - Truman Hall, Building 1908, Suite 103
Fort Belvoir, VA 22060
(703) 806-6715
robinrobinson.mba@gmail.com

President: 

John R. Lord, CDSM, CEA, CEM, CMVP, CSDP, GGP​

Energy Education Specialist, Loudoun County Public Schools
1002-C Sycolin Road, SE
Leesburg, VA 20175
(571) 252-2960 

Professional Mentor
Jared McGrath

Facilities Planning and Engineering, Eastern Research Group, Inc. (ERG)
2300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 350
Arlington, Virginia 22201
(703) 841-0507
Jared.McGrath@erg.com

Secretary: 

​​
VACANT

Treasurer - Hari Raj
harivignesh@gwmail.gwu.edu


Past President – Kiersten Washle
(704) 685-7744
kierstenwashle@gwmail.gwu.edu


Board of Directors:

Staff Advisor
Andrew Ludwig

Energy & Environmental Projects Manager, George Washington University
2121 Eye Street, NW, Suite 701
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7431
aludwig@gwu.edu

Ida Namur, CEP
DC Metro Power & Energy Market
Sector Leader, AECOM
12420 Milestone Center Drive
Germantown, MD 20876
(301) 213-6215
ida.namur@aecom.com

Mariah Schoch, EIT
Environmental Engineer, Eastern Research Group, Inc.
2300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 350
Arlington, Virginia 22201
(240) 778-8930
mariah.schoch@erg.com


Treasurer - Roger Chavez
(571) 239-0201
rchavezs@gmu.edu


Faculty Advisor
Dr. Elvin Yüzügüllü

Renewable Energy Program Director, George Washington University
800 22nd St. NW, Room B1840
Washington, DC 20052
703-310-8277
elvin@gwu.edu


AEE/NCC Student Chapters:

Past President: 

Eric Oliver, PE, CEM, GBE, LEED AP
Vice President, Energy Services - Inscope Innovation
12018 Sunrise Valley Dr.
Reston, VA  20191
(703) 655-0228

Arvind Srihari, CEM, CMVP
Account Representative, Building Technologies & Solutions, Johnson Controls
1101 Hampton Park Blvd Suite 100
Capitol Heights, MD 20743
(410) 487 - 5977
Arvind.Srihari@jci.com


Faculty Advisor
Colin Reagle

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering, George Mason University
4400 University Drive, MS 4A3 - Nguyen Engineering Building, 1856
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 993-1712

creagle@gmu.edu

President – Aldrich Reuelraj 
aldrich_uniflame@yahoo.in

Giovanni DiNitto
Account Executive, Siemens Industry, Inc.
6435 Virginia Manor Road
Beltsville, MD 20705
301-219-7146
Giovanni.Dinitto@Siemens.com

​Christopher Perry
Senior Analyst – Buildings Program,

American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy
529 14th Street N.W., Suite 600
Washington, D.C., 20045
(412) 979-7619
cperry@aceee.org 

Paul Wenner, PE, CEM
Sr. Program Manager, Lockheed Martin
700 King Farm Blvd
Rockville, MD  20850
(571) 422-3752
paul.wenner@lmco.com

Brenda Govan
HSEQ Administrator, Keller Foundations, LLC
7550 Teague Road, Suite 300 
Hanover, MD 21076
(443) 422-1688
brenda.govan@kellerfoundations.com

Bill Saulino, CEM
Senior Business Development Manager, Ameresco
101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Suite 525 E
Washington, DC 20001 
wsaulino@ameresco.com 

The Association of Energy Engineers (AEE), founded in 1977, is a nonprofit professional society of over 18,000 members in more than 100 countries.  AEE specializes in training, membership development, chapter development, and certification for professionals practicing in the fields of energy management, renewable energy and green buildings.  AEE offers a full array of informational outreach programs including seminars (live and internet based), conferences, journals, books, and certification programs.  The goal of AEE is: “to foster cooperative action in advancing the common purposes of its members and to promote activities designed to enable the industry to be conducted with the greatest economy and efficiency.”  The mission of AEE is: “to promote the scientific and educational interests of those engaged in the energy industry and to foster action for Sustainable Development.”

The National Capital Chapter of the AEE is one of the top performing chapters in the country.  We are a very active chapter and hold 12-15 events per year.  In addition to our standard chapter events, we are the professional mentor chapter for three student chapters at:  George Mason University, George Washington University, and the University of Maryland. Finally, we also have an active branch of The Council on Women in Energy & Environmental Leadership (CWEEL) which is a division of the AEE under the auspices of our chapter.

The following individuals help make these NCC events and activities possible:

Officers:

Armin Niklas
Mechanical Engineer,
Hartfiel Automation
9708 Ashley Dawn Court 
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
(240) 274-4844
aniklas@hartfiel.com

President - Jaehoon Choi
(703) 980-2333
jchoi19@gmu.edu


Senior Faculty Co-Advisor
Dr. Michael Ohadi

Professor, University of Maryland
4164C Glenn L. Martin Hall
College Park, MD 20742
(301) 405-5263
ohadi@umd.edu

Treasurer – Zach Ferraro
zferraro@umd.edu